wkd out & about: The Other Side X Ray-Ban Private Launch

ray

I think a huge portion of my young adult life was spent wanting to own a pair of Ray-Ban wayfarers. You know, the classic black RB2140s, as they’re fondly known by no one? When I finally, at 20, found a job decent enough for me to afford one (even 3!), at roughly Dh800 a pop (at that time), I still didn’t feel like I had earned the right to buy them. I’m weird, yes.

Now I’m 27 on some sort of semi-paid sabbatical of a bender (or bender of a sabbatical?), and therefore NOT making that money anymore, and I STILL don’t own one. I have, however, broken and lost a TON of cheap frames quite consistently in that time – which has not made it easier on me deciding to invest in a pricier pair.

But I do get invited to Ray-Ban’s parties, and for now I’m okay with that much proximity.

RAYBAN x THE OTHERSIDE 042016 URGENT HIGHRES (40 of 40)ray1

I’m so late in posting this because I had some actual real adult work I had to take care of this past week. But last week Ray-Ban teamed up with indie live music hosts, The Other Side to throw a hell of a party for the launch of their latest line of eyewear (which I’m really digging, by the way; can’t wait to show you some of the pieces).

ray2ray3

Needless to say, we also got to hear som ‘wkd’ sounds. Not only was it my first time to ANDLounge, which is a really pretty place at The Address Marina; it was also the first time I’d heard of Londoners BIG DEAL.

RAYBAN x THE OTHERSIDE 042016 URGENT HIGHRES (8 of 40)RAYBAN x THE OTHERSIDE 042016 URGENT HIGHRES (5 of 40)RAYBAN x THE OTHERSIDE 042016 URGENT HIGHRES (7 of 40)

They’re touring this summer, and this is what they sound like:

I know, jump-around-your-room-with-your-hair-loose-because-life-is-going-semi-bummerish music. Or driving in your car music, I guess.

I also like this song:

 Anyway, Ray-Ban and The Other Side are at it again in May for this event featuring TELEFERIK. Check it.

Leave a Reply

